Oh Yeah, Gonna Buy It

Thug Kitchen: Eat Like You give a F*ckthug kitchen

I have to admit to being a bit of a miser when it comes to buying books. I get them at discount stores, garage sales, thrift stores, Amazon used, you name it. I rarely buy anything new (Stephen King for example, or Harry Potter are my most recent new purchases).

I came across a video on Facebook that made me laugh out loud. (Watch it. Thank me later.) I was astounded to be told that it was a real book. Now anyone who knows me, knows that cooking is NOT on my list of preferred activities. It’s one of those things I do to keep my family alive, out of love. It’s not something I have a burning desire to expand my knowledge of, or expect to ever be good at. Yet–that book trailer piqued my interest. I put a hold on it from my library and picked it up today.

Oh man. I’ve laughed til I’ve cried–seriously I had to wipe my eyes to keep reading. I’m still in the Introduction, folks. This book is comedy gold.

But–I’m learning too. For example in the section entitled Pay.Fucking.Attention I learned that liquid and dry ingredients measure differently. Wuh–what? And in You Do You, they tell me that the recipes are a guide and offer this advice: ‘…we wrote this shit so a stranger could get down on what is being served up, but you know what the fuck you like. Taste while you’re cooking, not right before you are about to serve it when it’s to late to change shit.” Solid advice, and one I never do.

Regarding beans: “The beans are done when at least five of them taste tender and are cooked through. One bean can be a fucking liar so taste a few. Keep simmering until you get there. Simple shit.” I’ve never successfully cooked beans in my life. I’m gonna have a go at it for sure now. And with this kind of advice at my back, “You’re not going to fuck anything up. You got this.” I bet I’ll do just fine.

Other sections so far: Basic Tools for Kitchen Domination, and Staple Ingredients on Lock. This book explodes with personality. And they have a website, and a Facebook, too, in case you were wondering.

So, long story short: I will be buying this book. In fact, I can’t wait to buy it. I must own it. And like Julia Child I plan to go from one end of this book and drag my family along for the culinary ride all the way to the end.

 

 

One thought on “Oh Yeah, Gonna Buy It

Leave a Reply

